Foto DB-Regionalbahn

From winter semester 2024/25: The change to the nationwide Deutschland semester ticket is coming!

The student representatives of the universities in Kiel, Flensburg and Lübeck have decided to switch to the nationwide Deutschland Semesterticket from the coming winter semester 2024/25. The decision for the CAU student body was made by the student parliament at its meeting on Friday, February 23. It unanimously voted in favor of the switch for the winter semester 24/25. Furthermore, the parliament agreed to organize an extensive information campaign to inform the student body about the new conditions.

In November 2023, the federal and state governments agreed to offer students a discounted version of the Deutschlandticket. The change from the state-wide to the nationwide semester ticket will be accompanied by an increase in the semester ticket price. As a result, the price will rise from €171.10 for the state-wide ticket to €176.40 for a nationwide ticket for the 2024/25 winter semester. The student bodies primarily see the advantages for students that arise from the Deutschlandticket: The ticket guarantees the use of public transport throughout Germany as well as weekend use of the ferries in Kiel and Lübeck. Public transport on Sylt is also included.

The ticket is issued in the same way as the regular Deutschlandticket and is therefore primarily provided as a digital ticket. Alternatively, it is possible to issue a chip card, but this is not recommended due to the manual effort involved for students and public transport companies.

"At best, the offer of a Deutschlandticket for students must also be geared towards the reality of students' lives"

says Stella Thomsen, AStA board member. The cost of the Deutschland-Semesterticket is linked to the price of the regular Deutschlandticket and amounts to 60% of the latter. The student representatives are critical of this fixed price and point out that a potential future price increase should be evaluated and responded to accordingly.

"There is also agreement among the student bodies and transport companies that a return to the state-wide semester ticket should be possible at the unanimous request of the student bodies in Schleswig-Holstein"

explains Jonathan Borchers from the AStA Intrastructure Department.

The future of the Deutschland-Semesterticket is to be decided by the student body in a survey in the summer semester of 2024.

Image sources

Further news and articles

Foto DB-Regionalbahn

Ab Wintersemester 2024/25: Der Wechsel zum bundesweiten Deutschland-Semesterticket kommt!

Die Studierendenvertreter*innen der Hochschulen in Kiel, Flensburg und Lübeck haben beschlossen, dass ab dem kommenden Wintersemester 2024/25 zum bundesweiten Deutschland Semesterticket zu wechseln. Die Entscheidung für die Studierendenschaft der CAU hat das Studierendenparlament auf der Sitzung am Freitag, den 23.02, getroffen. Es wurde sich einstimmig für den Umstieg zum Wintersemester 24/25 ausgesprochen. Weiterhin wurde sich im Parlament geeinigt, eine ausgiebige Informationskampagne zu organisieren, damit die Studierendenschaft über die neuen Konditionen aufgeklärt werden.

Im November 2023 haben sich Bund und Länder geeinigt, den Studierenden eine vergünstigte Version des Deutschlandtickets anzubieten. Der Wechsel vom landesweiten zum bundesweiten Semesterticket erfolgt mit einer Erhöhung des Semesterticketpreises. Es wird folglich für das Wintersemester 2024/25 der Preis von 171,10€ des landesweiten Tickets auf 176,40€ für ein deutschlandweites Ticket steigen. Die Studierendenschaften sehen vor allem die Vorteile für die Studierenden, die durch das Deutschlandticket entstehen: Das Ticket garantiert die Nutzung des ÖPNV deutschlandweit sowie die Wochenend-Nutzung der Fähren in Kiel und Lübeck. Auch der ÖPNV auf Sylt ist miteingeschlossen.

Die Ausgabe des Tickets erfolgt in Anlehnung an das reguläre Deutschlandticket und wird somit vorrangig als digitales Ticket zur Verfügung gestellt. Alternativ besteht die Möglichkeit auf die Ausstellung einer Chipkarte, von der jedoch aufgrund des manuellen Aufwands für Studierende und Stadtverkehrsunternehmen abgeraten wird.

„Das Angebot eines Deutschlandticket für Studierende muss sich im besten Fall auch an der Lebensrealität der Studierenden orientieren“

, so Stella Thomsen, AStA Vorstand. Die Kosten des Deutschland-Semestertickets sind an den Preis des regulären Deutschlandtickets gebunden und belaufen sich auf 60 % ebendieses. Diese Preisbindung sehen die Studienvertreter*innen kritisch und verweisen darauf, eine potenziell künftige Preiserhöhung zu evaluieren und dementsprechend zu reagieren.

„Unter den Studierendenschaften und Verkehrsunternehmen besteht darüber hinaus Einigkeit, dass auf einheitlichen Wunsch der Studierendenschaften in Schleswig-Holstein eine Rückkehr zum landesweiten Semesterticket möglich sein soll“

, verdeutlicht Jonathan Borchers, Referent für Intrastruktur des AStA.

Der zukünftige Verbleib des Deutschland-Semestertickets soll in einer Umfrage im Sommersemester 2024 von der Studierendenschaft entschieden werden.

Bildquellen

Weitere Neuigkeiten und Themenbeiträge